Full Spectrum Creativity
I Will Create Despite Uncle Sam

Now Is the Only Time

“Security is mostly a superstition. It does not exist in nature nor do the children of men as a whole experience it. Avoiding danger is no safer in the long run than outright exposure. Life is either a daring adventure or nothing. To keep our faces towards change and behave like free spirits in the presence of fate is strength undefeatable.”

–Helen Keller

I used to imagine apocalyptic scenarios much like ones presented in movies like Red Dawn and books like Stephen King’s The Stand. It was exciting and fun, as a youth, to fantastically idealize and stylize a post-civilization world. Thinking up these scenarios, I never really was interested in the cause of the collapse of civilization, but more of the aftermath.

In the aftermath, of course me and my friends were still kickin’ it. I would think of all of our different skills and what we could contribute. Who might build shelters, what skills we would all exercise and hone in this post-apocalyptic world.

I wasn’t really concerned with those practical things, though. Mostly I would just let my mind picture everything gone back to wildness. The beauty of plants run rampant. Cars rusting and decying, reclaimed by mice, buggy critters, seeds. An idealized, romanticized vision.

Imagining us in neglected, unmaintained grocery stores, I would wonder how long we could live off of canned goods. For a good while, I imagined. Build a fire, heat up a can of beans, and you’re good to go!

I don’t think about these things too much anymore. Why don’t I? What with unstable markets; the reach of globalization decimating many, many lives in many, many countries; with the reality of highly entrenched, well-disguised systems of poverty, explotiation, and repression/suppression in the United States and other countries; with corrupt systems of unexamined values and multiple societies of blindly-led lives; with the religions of men at each other’s throats, clawing with cluster bombs, AK-47’s, shattering dreams with remote control explosions, and threatening to top and topple each other with the might of technologies and the right of righteous, wrathful, hierarchical gods–what’s keeping me from thinking about a very possible post-apocalyptic world?

Is it hope, is it ignorance, is it apathy? Is it an unwillingness to accept that given the current trajectory of world politics, policies, affairs, events, and wars, we are probably fucked on the much-lauded and pedastaled global civilization front?

Hell, I dunno.

I live in my small, fractalized reality. A product of environment, intention, and action. Probably of other things, too. I live in this small fractalized place, ever-shifting, never certain, always opening and closing, breathing, living, always revising, rethinking, re-evaluating. Progressing. Never certain.

We all live in these fractal bubbles, caught up and swirled in currents and jets of a compound dynamic of fractals past, present, and perhaps future.

This inspires me to live in my fractal from my heart, projecting beautiful visions of my imagination, of my desire to live beautifully in a plethora of families and cultures who love and respect one another.

Fuck. War.

Live peace.

No Responses to “Now Is the Only Time”

Leave a Reply

